Armament Systems Forum

"Armament System Response to the Evolving Threat Spectrum"

7 - 10 May 2018

Indianapolis, IN

DTIC Citations

Monday, May 7, 2018

Tutorial Sessions:

Tutorial 7: Small Caliber Lead Free Primer Panel
Moderator: Steve Faintich, Sr. Director Marketing & Sales, St. Marks Powder

  • Dan Mansfield, Orbital ATK Lake City
  • Todd Townsend, Small Caliber Project Management Engineer, Maneuver Ammunition Systems
  • Joel Sandstrom, Vista Outdoors
  • Jeremy Mills, Manager, Military Programs, Olin Corporation
  • Lina Norum, Nammo Demil Division
  • Gustavo Domit, Technical Director, Companhia Brasileira de Cartuchos


Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Keynote Address

  • Anthony Sebasto, Executive Director of Enterprise and Systems Engineering Center, US Army, ARDEC


Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Small Arms Track

Panel Discussion: PM Maneuver Ammunition Systems (PM-MAS)
Moderator: COL Hector Gonzalez, USA, Project Manager, PM-MAS
  • Christopher Seacord, Product Manager, Medium Caliber Ammunition
  • LTC Andrew Lunoff, USA, Product Manager, Small Caliber Ammunition
  • Tom Coradeschi, Chief Engineer, PM MAS
Panel Discussion: Joint Service Small Arms Synchronization Team (JSSAST)
Moderator: Augustine Funcasta, USA, RDECOM-ARDEC, JSSAP
  • COL Kurt "Travis" Thompson, USA, Solider Requirements Division
  • Christopher Woodburn, Deputy, Maneuver Branch, Capabilities, Development Directorate
  • Col Enrico Venditti, USAF, Security Forces Center
  • MSgt Craig LaMudge, USAF, Chief, Weapons and Ordnance Division, HQ USCG: Office of Specialized Capabilities
  • LCDR Peter Downes, USN, DCNO N9
  • LTC Mark Owens, USA, PEO SOF Warrior

JSSAP Science and Technology Advisory Council

ARDEC Small Caliber Barrel S&T Efforts

Characterization of Machine Gun Barrel Temperature and Stress Conditions Through Correlation of Testing and Modeling Simulation Data

Precision Munitions Technology

Guns, Ammunition, Rockets & Missiles Track (GARM) Track

Panel Discussion: Armament Response to Evolving Threat Spectrum
Moderator: Dave Broden, President, Broden Resource Soultions

  • Dr. Anthony Pezzano, Director, ARDEC Business Interface
  • Dr. Terrence West, AMRDEC
  • Michael Holthe, US Army ASAALT
  • Dr. David Lambert, Chief Scientist, AFRL

GARM - Concurrent Sessions: (Distribution A)


Modernizing Field Artillery Maintenance Equipment to Increase Performance and Reduce Needed Resource

  • James Brooker, Vice President, Engineering, R&D, Otis Technology

Unconventional Emerging Technology Armaments (UEA) Track

Major Defense Acquisition Programs and Meeting Chemical, Biological, Radiological, and Nuclear Survivability Requirements

  • John Larzelere, JPEO JPM-P MDAP Support-Team Lead, NSWC Dahlgren Division

The Secure Supply Chain

  • Henry Newman, Chief Technology Officer, Seagate Government Solutions

Adaptive Sensitivity Testing in Armaments, A Case Study

  • Zachary Krogstad, Mechanical Engineer, Armament Research, Development & Engineering Center
  • Nick Tashjian, Quality Engineer, Armament Research, Development & Engineering Center


Thursday, May 10, 2018

Small Arms Track

Concurrent Sessions:

Session I: Ammunition (Plaza A)
Moderator:Bruce Webb, Director, Specialty Ammunition, NAMMO, Inc.


Multiplex Small Arms Cartridge Technology

A Wild Ride-9mmm MK217 SMAW Spotting Cartridge

  • Jay Bell, MAST/Brass Extrusion Labs Ltd.

Contributions of Variables to Velocity Deviations in Small Caliber Ammunition

  • Connie Lusto, ARDEC
  • David Stubler, Orbital ATK

Contributing Factors to Proper Tracer Performance

  • Thomas Gmyrek, ARDEC
  • Kaleb Luna, Orbital ATK LCAAP

The Next Advancement for the Battle Proven M240 Weapon System


Session 2: Target Acquisition – Fire Control Panel (Plaza B)
    Robert Guarasi, Wilcox Industries Corporation and
    Terence Rice, RDECOM-ARDEC, JSSAP


Panel Discussion:
Moderator: Robert Guarasi, Wilcox Industries Corporation
Government Panelist:

  • COL Elliott Caggins, USA, PM Soldier Weapons
  • COL Chris Schneider, USA, PM SSL
  • Ross Towers, ARDEC Fire Control
  • Darren Ward, ARDEC Fire Control
  • Dr. Mark Thoreson, NSWC Crane
  • Greg Petty, NSWC Crane
  • Dean Kissinger, CERDEC NVESD

DTIC Citations